Join Us at The Annual Meeting 2018!

April 20th, 2018

The Watershed is excited to announce that Catherine McCabe, Gov. Phil Murphy’s nominee to become the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, will be the guest speaker at our April 23 annual meeting.

McCabe has had a distinguished career in environmental law and science, serving 12 years at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and 22 years at the U.S. Department of Justice. She will play a central role in the state’s efforts to protect clean water and combat climate change.

In addition, Watershed Executive Director Jim Waltman will present the Edmund W. Stiles Award for Environmental Leadership to Kathleen Biggins and C-Change Conversation, a volunteer-led association committed to promoting non-partisan dialogue and education about climate change.

Education Director Jeff Hoagland will present the Richard Rotter Award for Excellence in Environmental Education to two elementary school teachers, Jeanne Muzi of Lawrence Township’s Public Schools and Colleen Schantzer of Lawrence’s Ben Franklin Elementary School.

These two have run the Streamkeepers program since 2006 at the elementary school that cultivates science studies in young students. The students gather information, make observations and report details about the Little Shabakunk Creek behind their school and its surrounding woodlands. They check water, soil and weather conditions and document their observations through photos, drawings and video.

After a presentation by Kathy Hackett, Chair of the Committee on Trustees, the board will vote to confirm five new trustees from Pennington, Princeton and Kingston.

Finally, the Annual Meeting will honor Laura Hanson of Pennington for her service as board chair, and Sophie Glovier or Princeton and Mary Jane Augustine of Pennington for their years of service as trustees.

RSVP for this Event

Copyright © 2019 The Watershed Institute. All rights reserved.

Site by Scout Digital