Watershed Staff

Jim Waltman

Executive Director
jwaltman@thewatershed.org | ext. 22

Jim has served as Executive Director of The Watershed Institute since April 2005. He regularly speaks at community events and municipal meetings throughout central New Jersey, serving as a go-to resource for government officials and community leaders on how to best protect clean water and the environment throughout the region.

Kevin Walsh

Deputy Director
kwalsh@thewatershed.org  | ext. 30

As Deputy Director, Kevin Walsh functions as the COO/CFO of The Watershed Institute. Kevin holds a B.A. from The College of New Jersey in Political Science with a minor in Business Management. Kevin has 19 years of experience in directing and developing community programs for the non-profit sector, most recently at the Princeton Family YMCA, serving as senior program director of operations.

Laurie Babicki

Executive Assistant
lbabicki@thewatershed.org | ext. 10

Richard Cavallaro

Controller
rcavallaro@thewatershed.org  | ext. 23

Matt Thompson 

Property Maintenance Manager
mthompson@thewatershed.org  | ext. 21

ADVOCACY

Mike Pisauro, J.D.

Policy Director
mpisauro@thewatershed.org | ext. 18

Prior to joining The Watershed Institute, Mike was a practicing attorney for 19 years and is licensed in NJ and PA. For the past ten plus years, he ran his own law firm concentrating on environmental work for citizen and environmental organizations before local land use boards, DEP, and in litigation.

Kimber Ray

Resource Center Coordinator

kray@thewatershed.org  | ext. 27

Lia Mastropolo

Municipal Policy Specialist

lmastropolo@thewatershed.org | ext. 29

Kory Kreiseder

Stormwater Specialist

kkreiseder@thewatershed.org | ext. 15

SCIENCE

Steve Tuorto, Ph.D.

Director of Science & Stewardship
stuorto@thewatershed.org  | ext. 35

Steve brings an impressive background of lab and field research, data analysis, and reporting of environmental and ecological research to The Watershed Institute. His mix of experiences in academia and the private sector include time working as senior R&D scientist at Terra Cycle. He received his PhD from Rutgers University in 2008 in the Department of Marine and Coastal Sciences and has conducted research in a variety of ecosystems, including open-ocean, estuary, riverine, groundwater and permafrost.

Erin Stretz

Assistant Director of Science & Stewardship
estretz@thewatershed.org  | ext. 17

Nicholas Ho 

GIS Specialist
nho@thewatershed.org  | ext. 12

Nik Hansen 

Watershed Scientist
nhansen@thewatershed.org  | ext. 54

Allison Jackson

Stewardship Coordinator 
ajackson@thewatershed.org | ext. 20

Vacant

River-Friendly Coordinator 

EDUCATION

Jeff Hoagland

Education Director
jhoagland@thewatershed.org | ext. 25

Jeff has dedicated more than 25 years to The Watershed Institute and environmental education. As Education Director, he provides the vision and direction for the Watershed’s education program, overseeing staff and interns. He leads workshops and programs for teachers, students and the public, partners with local organizations and municipal groups, speaks at community events and inspires others to love the natural world through outlets like his Kids & Nature Blog.

Pat Heaney

Senior Educator 
pheaney@thewatershed.org | ext. 11

Tammy Love

Camp Director & Education Manager 
tlove@thewatershed.org | ext. 42

Michelle Perkins

Education Intern and Assistant Camp Director 
mperkins@thewatershed.org | ext. 53

Korie Vee

Education Intern and Camp Group Leader 
kvee@thewatershed.org | ext. 53

Vicky Allen

Teacher-Naturalist
vallen@thewatershed.org | ext. 48

Samantha Bernstein

Teacher-Naturalist
sbernstein@thewatershed.org | ext. 33

Alison Novobilsky

Teacher-Naturalist
anovobilsky@thewatershed.org | ext. 48

MEMBERSHIP & DEVELOPMENT

Jenny-Ann Kershner

Development Director
jkershner@thewatershed.org | ext. 36

Jenny-Ann Kershner comes to us with extensive experience in fundraising, grant-making, and non-profit leadership. Prior to joining the Watershed, Jenny was the Development Director for the Rutgers School of Dental Medicine, building relationships with alumni, foundations, and corporations to advance the school’s mission.

Eve Niedergang

Volunteer Coordinator
eniedergang@thewatershed.org | ext. 51

Lynn McNulty

Database Manager
lmcnulty@thewatershed.org | ext. 24

Suzanne Moran

Events Manager
smoran@thewatershed.org | ext. 28

Rob Nicolaides

Communications Manager
rnicolaides@thewatershed.org | ext. 16

Pam Podger

Marketing Manager

ppodger@thewatershed.org | ext. 19

Alan Polk

Development Assistant

apolk@thewatershed.org | ext. 14